Essie: Jiggle Hi, Jiggle Low + Luxeffects (Winter 2014)

Screenshot_2014-11-07-17-38-53-1

A new, beautiful and unconventional winter collection is available from Essie, and I couldn’t be more excited!! I’ve actually had these polishes for over a month, but just got so busy with last minute Fall and Halloween collections, that I never got around to posting this! If you do not like reds or pinks, okay this might not be for you- BUT, it is a gorgeous, cohesive collection.

PicsArt_1415398584248

“Jump In My Jumpsuit” 2 coats, with top coat. This was almost a one coater! I LOVE this shade. I have worn it about 4 times in the last month which I do not do, ever. It’s just beautiful with a perfect formula. You need it.

PicsArt_1415398527216

“Double Breasted Jacket” 2 coats, with top coat. Another almost 1 coater, amazing formula. I generally don’t love reds because I think they make my skin look too red/purple- but this was very complementary. I can’t wait to use it for holiday nail art- which I’m trying SO hard to hold off on.

PicsArt_1415398423489

“Bump Up The Pumps” 2 coats, with top coat. How lovely is this muted coral? This is basically a softer, deeper version of “Cute As A Button.” Definitely not a dupe, and worth having in its own right.

PicsArt_1415398372996

“Jiggle High, Jiggle Low” 2 coats, with top coat. The namesake of the collection, and the most predictable holiday shade. It’s a very unique mix of champagne yet silvery tones- unlike anything I have!

PicsArt_1415384494507

“Tuck It In My Tux” 3 coats, with top coat. Definitely a sheer soft white, which Essie has done before. If you’re going to leave one behind I’d probably suggest this one, not because it’s not beautiful- because it is-just for the fact that there are other similar options.

A bit of a note on the Essie sheers- I’ve seen so many people comment that they don’t reach opacity: well, they’re really not supposed to. You cannot expect a sheer polish to finish the same as a highly pigmented creme polish. It’s not the same formula! Now, why bother with a sheer? Well, you can do some other cool things with sheers that you cannot do with cremes.

Treat the Essie sheers like jelly polishes- polishes that are sheer in consistency and are not truly meant to be opaque- although can reach opacity in about 4 coats. These polishes generally finish with a ton of natural shine and have a squishy, jelly, candy like appearance- hence the name “jelly.”

So, what I did here was I started with 2 coats of Essie “Tuck It In My Tux” and added a glitter topper:

PicsArt_1415383772222

“Rock To The Top” 1 coat over “Tuck It In My Tux,” no top coat. This is a stunning new gold luxeffect polish! Look how evenly and generously it applied with just one coat!

Then, I added a VERY thin coat of “Tuck It In My Tux” OVER the glitter topper:

PicsArt_1415383687245

Voila! A completely different look when layering the sheer polish over the glitter. This is why I do not get frustrated with the Essie sheers- they are not cremes, and they have an entire new, fun purpose of their own!

PicsArt_1415398315367

“Back In The Limo” 3 coats, with top coat. This is another sheer polish, that can be used the same way as “Tuck It In My Tux” to do a jelly sandwich (sheer polish base, glitter layer, then thin sheer polish coat over the glitter). This is similar to a more muted, sheer version of “A Crewed Interest,” but again, definitely not a dupe. I love this soft shade.

PicsArt_1415384620673

and finally, “Summit Of Style” one coat over “Back In The Limo,” no top coat. This new luxeffect shade is a coppery-gold and jam-packed with glitter. There was no fishing for glitters, and it applied evenly and generously with one coat.

So there you have it! Clearly I love this collection, but what are your thoughts on this non-traditional Essie Winter selection? If I had to pick, my favorites would be “Jump In My Jumpsuit,” and “Rock To The Top.”

Stay polished,

Gianna

Leave a Reply

