Glisten & Glow HK Girl Top Coat

image

I was thrilled when Jill from Glisten & Glow sent me a bottle of my favorite top coat to review! Thanks for the opportunity, Jill!

HK girl is a glossy, fast drying top coat perfect for sealing in multiple layers of acrylic paint designs, smoothing out chevrons, or simply to bump up the sparkle on a swatch!

Now I’ll admit that at one time I swore by Seche Vite. I had tried drug store brands and was truly was not satisfied. Seche didn’t smear my artwork, so I settled with the shrinkage, smell and higher price tag. A few months later, I started reading rave reviews over HK girl and HAD to try it. Let’s just say I’m on my fifth bottle.

Pros!
– High speed dry time (2 minutes. Yes, I timed it.)
– ‘Fully dry’ for tape/ nail vinyl designs within 10 minutes. In 2 minutes I’d describe the nails as being dry enough to change your clothes, or leave the house and not have to worry. Now those who have tried tape manicures know that a higher level of dryness is needed to ensure that the base color polish does not peel off when you remove the tape/ nail vinyl. HK girl achieves this dryness in 10 minutes.
– Not as strong of an odor as Seche.
– Absolutely no shrinkage (where the top coat pulls the polish from the cuticle and tip and makes it look worn almost immediately. A well known problem with Seche.)
– No bubbles if applied correctly. I find that rolling the bottle in between my palms rather than shaking it works well to avoid bubbles.
– No smearing of nail art designs. This applies for designs done with all polish as well as acrylic paints.
– Longer durability and wear time! I change my nails constantly but for the sake of review I kept the same mani on for 5 days. There was minimal tip wear and no significant chips. I applied an additional coat on day three.

Cons:
– The ONLY flaw I found with this top coat was that after a few days of wear over a white base, the polish looked a bit discolored. This only happened with white.
– You’ll start having anxiety attacks if you’re running out and don’t have a spare ;P

**Photo Heavy**
Examples of HK girl over different types of manicures:

image

Before top coat

image

After HK girl

image

All with HK girl. Note how HK girl doesn’t dull the shimmer of Essie ‘Cocktails and Coconuts’ (middle finger)

image

Before top coat

image

After HK girl

image

Before top coat

image

After HK girl

image

Before top coat

image

After HK girl

image

Before top coat

image

After HK girl

image

Before top coat

image
After HK girl

image

Full design

image
Before top coat

image
Full design after HK girl

So! I think there are ample examples to confirm that HK girl is thee holy grail of top coats! You can purchase your own HERE!

4 thoughts on “Glisten & Glow HK Girl Top Coat

  1. I cannot thank you enough for this review. I am finally getting fed up with my issues using Seche Vite and this product was at the top of my list to try I’ve read other reviews but they didn’t supply the answers I needed (like how it works over nail art…smudging, filling in tape manicures, smoothing out designs, etc). Your review did all of that and more! I can confidently say that will be purchasing this top coat after reading this article and seeing your fabulous pictures!!!! Now if they could just have a sale, haha!

Leave a Reply

