Pear Nova Swatches

Pear Nova generously sent me their latest collection of 11 polishes to work with! After almost two weeks and more snow days than I’ve ever experienced, they finally found their way to me. Most of the shades applied like a jelly in the first coat, and finished like a shiny cream after the second, classifying them as crellies. I’ll note which shades acted more like creams vs crellies.

I will, of course, incorporate these into my art when I see fit, but I wanted to show them all alone.

Most of these shades reached opacity in 2 coats, unless stated otherwise, and all are shown without top coat.

Photographed with Galaxy s4 in a lightbox with double Ottlite lighting.

On a sidenote, I love the slender, unique bottles! A sleek appearance gains bonus points in my book! However, I do wish the polish names were on the bottle somewhere.

image
Name: Casanova

Consistency: Crelly

image

Name: Blue Magic (but I personally think it’s more purple. It reminds me of Essie Lapis of Luxury, but brighter!)

Consistency: Crelly
Notes: My favorite color from the bunch! I have a thing for blues, purples, and periwinkles, so I may be biased. Expect more of this color throughout the spring and summer!

 

image

Name: Navy Bass

Consistency: Crelly
Notes: A close second to my favorite.

image

Name: Woodsy Hipster

Consistency: Crelly
Notes: This is a rather unique color, especially for fall and winter. I can’t say I have anything else like this in my collection. I thought it was more blue based in the bottle, but applies with more of a green undertone.

image

Name: Rolling stoned (Lol, greatness.)Consistency: Crelly

Notes: An easy, gunmetal.

image
Name: Jungle Fever

Consistency: Crelly

image
Name: LSD At Three

Consistency: Crelly

image
Name: Uptown Grit

Consistency: Applied more like a cream

Notes: I see myself using this in autumn. It holds a striking resemblance to Marc Jacobs’ bags and signature saddle color usage.

 

**Shades that were problematic for me:

image
Name: Rated R

Consistency: Crelly

Notes: As you can see on the pinky, there was much to be desired in the sense of self-leveling.

image
Name: Brand Spankin Nude (Again, great name!)

Consistency: Applied more like a cream

Notes: I really wanted to love this color. I am in perpetual search of the perfect creams and nudes, since I love how they look with my skin, especially in the summer (and I’m wishfully thinking for this snow to be gone!) The application wasn’t *too* bad, but I feel like it looks rather thick on my nails. It needed three coats for opacity, but did not level nicely on the third layer. Perhaps two thicker coats, or using it over white, would have been better.

image
Name: Heavy Meadow

Consistency: Crelly
Notes: I couldn’t get a good photograph of this shade, it freaked my camera out and made my skin look funky. The consistency of this certain polish was not as smooth as the others, and the shade simply doesn’t suit my skin tone.

Leave a Reply

