Heart Dreamcatchers

image

Inspired by @stormandstars on IG!
I love dreamcatchers, I even have one tattooed on my back that I drew. There’s a lot of personal meaning to me, of course, but I won’t go on about that here. I’ve had @stormandstars version saved on my phone for so long, and knew I had to recreate it at some point.

image

I started off with two coats of Blanc Morena I AM Confident! A really gorgeous periwinkle that reminds me of a richer version of Essie Bikini So Teeny. Shown here is natural light.

image

And under my daylight lamp.

image

For my gradient, I paired I AM Confident with Essie Play Date. Some people use a white background for gradients, but I like to use one of my colors, usually the one closest to my cuticles.

image

I sponged my colors on about three times.

image

Clean up with an angled brush and remover, and add top coat.

image

The rest of the design is done with a Winstonia Store brush, from their 8 pc. collection. I started by freehanding tilted hearts.

image

On the left is the finished heart, and the right shows how I filled it in.

image

Add more shapes.

image

They don’t have to be perfectly identical, but I tried to keep them almost exact.

image

I then added some lines that the feathers will hang from.

image

I carefully and lightly painted three small feathers at the ends of the vertical lines.

image

Working one finger at a time, I added Glisten & Glow Hk girl top coat, and placed the rhinestone and sequins with a dotting tool before it dries!

*** if you’re ever inspired by or recreate one of my designs, please tag me (@nailstorming) and hashtag #nailstormed on Instagram, so I can see and possibly feature your version at the end of the month! ๐Ÿ™‚ ***

2 thoughts on “Heart Dreamcatchers

Leave a Reply

