Distressed Flag with Nailed Kit USA decals

image

Distressed flag and USA decals for our American competitors in Sochi for the winter games! It was my first time doing the saran wrap technique, so excuse the trial and error vibe of this post. Overall, I love the distressed flush look and will most likely recreate it for Memorial Day or Fourth of July.

image

I started with two coats of a navy L’oreal polish on my pointer and middle fingers, I don’t know the name because my cap split. On the ring and pinky is two coats of Color Club poetic hues, my favorite buff color right now.

image

I randomly placed some blobs of the nude polish throughout the navy nails, and I added some blue ones, too.

image

Squish it with a cut up piece of saran/plastic wrap or with a cut up sandwich bag like I did.

image

It was a bit too nude for me so I repeated the process with navy:

image

I’m not sure if you’re supposed to use the same piece of saran wrap, but I did. I don’t like wasting things!

image

I added top coat to smooth it out, and I loooove the effect! So marble-y looking.

image

With red acrylic paint I added some woobly stripes. I didn’t want them to be perfectly straight to give to sense of movement and all that jazz.

image

Then, with a buttermilk colored acrylic paint, I added some random dots throughout the red stripes.

image

With red acrylic paint with a tiny bit of water added, I went back over those nude spots. Watering down the paint makes it more translucent!

image

With the same buttermilk acrylic paint as before, I added stars to the blue nails.

image

I added essie matte about you top coat and here’s the finished distressed flag look! I should have just done the stars on my pointer, but I’ll correct that when I redo this design later on.

image

I added Nailed Kit USA decals to my fingers with stripes. Don’t add matte top coat beforehand if its your first time using them, as they get tricky to work with. I wanted a compete flash tutorial though, so I added it. I have a tutorial for how to use them on my L-o-v-e post. You can purchase these limited edition USA decals this week only from Nailed Kit!

Leave a Reply

