Dandelion seeds to birds

Inspired by @just1nail on IG

PicsArt_1390231263579

A dandelion blowing in the wind, again?! Yes. I didn’t particularly like painting in white and reverse silhouette last time around, so I decided to try this design again with some minor changes. I made it on a bit of a smaller scale and made the blowing seeds turn into birds. So trendy it hurts!

Steps:

20140118_201249-1

I started with 3 coats of Essie Limo-scene. Quite possibly the palest pink, EVER!

20140119_100019-1

With a detailer, I made some grass and a little stem extending from my pointer to my middle finger.

20140119_100106-1

I then added a little circular bulb. You can use a dotting tool or freehand it. It doesn’t have to be perfect since it will end up blending in and just serves as a guide.

20140119_100257-1

I started the flower by drawing lines of slightly different lengths all around the bulb. Again, don’t worry about them being perfect.

20140119_100421-1

Then with my striper, which is a bit thinner, I went back in and made the flower head fuller. If you’re going to be the seeds blowing out from the head, make sure to keep a small section empty like I did.

20140119_100845-1

Then I added little V shaped strokes on the edges all around the flower.

PicsArt_1390274145942

Now time for the seeds. I started with random little lines with my striper at different angles.

PicsArt_1390274199331

Lastly I added little varying sized strokes to one end of the seeds, and made some birds flying out to my pinky. If you do not feel comfortable painting birds, stick with the V shaped silhouette birds that are scattered in between my bigger birds. They’re very easy and make for the same effect.

PicsArt_1390231263579

Lastly, add top coat to seal in your design and to ensure durability. I use Glisten & Glow HK girl top coat. And you’re done!

**If you’re ever inspired by me or recreate one of my manicures, hashtag (#)nailstormed on Instagram so I can see and possibly feature it at the end of each month!!**

Leave a Reply

