Valentine’s Minions

PicsArt_1390164315519

Valentine’s Day Minion! If you’ve been following my Instagram or know me personally, you are aware that I am IN LOVE with minions! I just think they are the cutest animated character to come around in a while. I have to minion all the things! So, of course I had to do Valentine’s day minions! These took me three tries to get it right: the first time, I used Essie Muchi Muchi as my base and it was much too blue based and looked strange, the second time, I just didn’t paint the design to my liking, and I think I finally got a good one this time around!

Steps:

2014-01-19 15.18.57-2

I started with two coats of Sally Hansen Pink Blink. As far as Sally Hansen Insta-Dri goes, I absolutely love and recommend this brand. It’s perfect for nail art and dries almost immediate. I love the thick brush and surprising self-leveling efficiency of this polish for such a cheap price.

20140119_111613-1-2

For this step I used a tiny striper from the Winstonia Store. I freehanded a straight line towards the top of the nail. If you have trouble free handing I recommend starting your line, and keeping your brush still while rotating your nail.

20140119_112046-1-1

Then, with a detailer from the Winstonia Store, I outline the goggles. I didn’t worry about the inner edge being too perfect because I can always smooth it out in the next step.

20140119_113107-1

I filled in the goggles with white, but left a clean outline with gray.

20140119_114002-1

Then, I freeehanded a square in the lower half of the nail and then added two horizontal lines coming from each corner into the middle to make the overalls.

20140119_114214-1

My favorite part: The mouths! I decided to make my pointer finger upset and the rest happy with a simple curved smile.

PicsArt_1390163958281

I used a dotting tool dipped in acrylic paint to make their eyes. I personally like to make them looking all different directions.

PicsArt_1390163998053

Then, to make them fit the Valentine’s day theme, I added hearts on their overalls instead of the Gru symbol.

PicsArt_1390164315519

Then, I broke the heart of the minion on the pointer finger to match his facial expression. Lastly, I topped off my design with Glisten & Glow HK Girl Top Coat for shine and durability!

 

**If you’re ever inspired by me or recreate one of my manicures, hashtag (#)nailstormed on Instagram so I can see and possibly feature it at the end of each month!!**

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

