Love Branches

PicsArt_1389662766261

I don’t know what to call these so I’m naming them Love Branches! Another early Valentine’s day design that can be multi-seasonal! I actually really enjoyed these. I am NOT one for Valentine’s day; it’s just not my thing. Romance and flowers are soo not my style, haha! BUT these manicures are fun and an excuse to use all those pinks I have sitting in my drawer!

This is a relatively simple design, I think the most important thing is to invest in some acrylic paints (which are way cheaper than polish so what are you waiting for?) and some brushes in various sizes. I’ll make a post soon describing what I think are the essentials for beginners with prices and links!

Steps!

20140112_230020-1

Start with opaque light pink nails. Here I used 3 thin coats of Essie Muchi Muchi. A few months ago I had 3 Essie polishes, and now I have it’s the brand that I have the most of in my collection. I love the thinner consistency and self-leveling and selection of colors really never fails for me.

2

Add branches! I didn’t really follow a guide, I just added more until I got the right effect. If your nails are shorter, maybe you’ll only need one branch on each finger instead of the two like I have.

3

I used a tiny detail brush from Winstonia Store (from this set http://winstoniastore.com/nail-art/brushes/8-pcs-nail-art-brushes-pink.html) and freehanded little hearts in bright red.

4

I then added more hearts in a darker pink.

5

And finally I added even more hearts in a cranberry color. I kept them all relatively the same size but you can do varying sizes and angles if you so choose!

PicsArt_1389662766261

Seal in your design with a glossy top coat and you’re done! I use Glisten & Glow’s HK Girl top coat.

**If you’re ever inspired by me or recreate one of my manicures, hashtag (#)nailstormed on Instagram so I can see and possibly feature it at the end of each month!!**

Leave a Reply

