Dandelion

PicsArt_1389451030623

The other day I asked for some requests for simpler nail art, since I am busy studying for my GRE which I’m scheduled to take this Tuesday, and it’s taking over my creativity! The response was overwhelming and so many great ideas were suggested. I wrote them all down, for future reference, and picked a few I want to try to get done this weekend.

This manicure was also done with brushes from Winstonia Store. I used the shorter striper and a detailer:

20140111_100112

I’m really impressed with these brushes. They’re well made, don’t have any straggling ends, and are a nice combination of flexible and stiff that I can control it just the way I want. In my opinion, the old saying reigns true: “An artist is only as good as his/her tools.” I would highly suggest these brushes, especially if it’s the first time you’re investing in brushes and want a good variety of sizes and types to learn how to play around with different effects. Purchase information can be found here: http://winstoniastore.com/nail-art/brushes/8-pcs-nail-art-brushes-pink.html

Steps:

1

Start with a solid black base. Here I used two thin coats of Essie Licorice.

2

With your striping brush, Add a medium sized line going from the bottom right corner of your index finger to about mid left center of your middle. Switching to your detail brush, add a diagonal V shape, and extended quite a few thing lines from that flower base.

3

Still with your detailer, extend those lines further and fill in to make a more circular shape for your dandelion.

4

At this point, I changed back to my striping brush to add lines of different thickness. I also added little V shaped ending on the outer edge of some of the lines to add fullness of the white fluffy sphere. I then added a few dots on the inside of the flower.

5

When I was happy with my flower head, I added a few seeds blowing across my ring and pinky fingers. I did this by first drawing a diagonal line and then adding about 6-8 lines at one end.

PicsArt_1389451030623

Add as many seeds blowing until you’re satisfied with the look!

with topcoat

Add topcoat to seal in your design and you’re done!

**If you’re ever inspired by me or recreate one of my manicures, hashtag (#)nailstormed on Instagram so I can see and possibly feature it at the end of each month!!**

Leave a Reply

