Cherry Blossom

cherry blossom final

This may not be the most original design, but I absolutely love these!

First I painted my nails with two coats of Essie Mint Candy Apple. I then painted two stripes of Mint Candy Apple on a makeup sponge cut in half, and two stripes of Turquoise & Caicos underneath it like such:

gradient supplies

I sponged that on each nail, allowed some dry time, and re-applied the colors and sponged again to achieve this subtle gradient for my base:

gradient

I then used brown acrylic paint to draw the branches. I didn’t really follow a guide or worry too much about it connecting nail to nail:

branches

Then, I used a thin brush to place three small dots of dark pink in various places to be my cherry blossom bases. The remaining steps can all also be done with a dotting tool*If you do not have a dotting tool, don’t worry! I made my first ones. Just take a sewing pin or even a junk jewelery circle fake pearl earring for example, and stick the pin part into an eraser of a pencil. There are many images on DIY dotting tools on Google!*

dark pink

I then placed three dots of lighter pink, leaving some dark pink showing on the edges:

light pink

Add a single white dot to the center of each flower:

white

Finally, add one dot of darker pink slightly to the right of the white dot, almost covering it but leaving some space on one side:

final untouched

Seal in you design with a glossy top coat, clean up around your cuticles, and you’re done!I highly recommend Glisten & Glow HK Girl top coat: it’s nice and shiny, NEVER smears your design if you’re doing nail art, dries quickly, and never causes shrinkage. I only recommend things I use myself, and after using Seche Vite for awhile and being really annoyed with the shrinkage and intense smell, I am so happy to have something I love!!

**If you’re ever inspired by me or recreate one of my manicures, hashtag (#)nailstormed on Instagram so I can see and possibly feature it at the end of each month!!**

Leave a Reply

